8/2308 Special Home Wanted 

- Re-Homed

This 3 year old looking for a special caring home


Colour :
Age :
2 years 10 months
Good with children? :
Yes, but probably older primary or above 
Sex :
Good with cats? :
Reference :
Steve & Margaret Waller 01271 269 079 or 07887 682 054

    Register Your Interest

    Please fill in the fields below and our area coordinator will get back to you as soon as they can.

    *required fields.

    Adults who live at your home select numbers


    Here is a happy, lively chap nearly 3 years old, castrated dog looking for a really special home.

    He has diagnosed Hip Dysplasia and his current owners have kept him on a restricted exercise regime and painkillers where necessary to help him.  We feel he ideally needs to go to a home with a large garden and experienced owners who understand that the exercise he needs is limited.  He might like swimming, and this exercise would be beneficial to keeping his muscles strong and his hips as good as they can be.  Playing fetch with a ball is probably not a good idea but there are lots of other games that he would love to give him the outdoors stimulation he needs.  To get him in a rested and calm state where he can relax he needs brain work rather than long walks over the fields.    Obviously, when his pain is low, he thinks and acts like any young dog.

    He has learnt basic commands and his current owners say his recall is good.  To help his hips – not too many ‘sits’ though!  He loves to go out and will pull on the lead so some training in this regard is really needed.

    He also has a gut issue and is currently on a hypoallergenic diet which generally keeps him well.  So care with treats as well as what goes in the dish!

    Because of these two health issues he will be rehomed as an ‘assisted’ dog.  This means that the charity would pay necessary and approved vet bills for these two conditions (only) where an insurance would not provide cover since they would be considered a ‘pre-existing condition’.

    He has not lived with young children or cats.  Any children visiting or living with him would need to be old enough to be aware of the health issues he has and exercise some sensible self control over how they play and interact with him.

    He is being rehomed because of changing family circumstances.

    Although he has lived with another Labrador (dog) he can try and be dominant with other dogs.  For this reason we would prefer a home where he is the only dog so he can settle down quickly to a calm lifestyle.

    As the dog is in the Kent area we would normally say that home in Kent would be preferred but we are happy to consider special homes from over the LRSEC area that can give this dog a secure long-term home.  To confirm what area we cover please look at the map and information on the ‘contact’ page of the web site.